This article was originally published by The Mennonite

Goshen College named Indiana Radio School of the Year

Photo: David Leaman-Miller, a junior from Denver, Colorado, and Elizabeth Derstine, a senior from Lancaster, Pennsylvania, film a documentary in Kenya in Spring 2014. Photo provided by Goshen College. 

For the fourth time in five years, Goshen (Ind.) College earned the title of Indiana Radio School of the Year in the 2016 Indiana Association of School Broadcasters’ (IASB) college competition, making it the winningest program in the contest’s history.

Goshen was also a runner-up for Indiana Television School of the Year, narrowly missing the title after winning it four times in the past six years.

For the radio awards, students were judged on their work from Goshen’s on-campus radio station, 91.1 FM The Globe (WGCS) ( Students and community volunteers provide 24-hour programming, including music, news, public affairs and sports.

For the television awards, students were judged on their work from the college’s bi-weekly television news broadcast, The Correspondent, and their film work with FiveCore Media, an on-campus video production company that provides students with professional experience in serving internal and external clients.

“I am extremely proud of our students,” said Jason Samuel, WGCS general manager and assistant professor of communication. “Their hard work is the key ingredient to our success. They are proud, dedicated and skilled students who will serve the industry well upon graduation.”

Kyle Hufford, assistant professor of communication and FiveCore Media general manager, said, “We’ve built an expectation of excellence that our students embrace.”

Goshen College competes among Indiana colleges and universities with much larger broadcasting programs, including Ball State University, Butler University, University of Indianapolis, Indiana Wesleyan University and Taylor University. This year’s competition saw a record 235 entries from 12 schools.

“For Goshen College to win school of the year honors in radio and finish second in television is testimony to the dedication of our broadcasting faculty and students–and to their distinct voices,” said Duane Stoltzfus, chair of the communication department at Goshen. “One secret to standing apart from the crowd is to provide content that has personality and depth. It’s programming that says ‘Goshen,’ a blend of student voices, from first years to seniors, with whispers of faculty instruction in the background.”

“It’s so much fun being part of this tradition of excellence,” said David Kendall, associate professor of communication and adviser for The Correspondent. “We have great students, who put a lot of heart into what they do. I’m very proud of them.”

Nineteen different Goshen College students and recent graduates earned individual awards in 16 categories, including seven first-place honors.

Radio awards

First place

  • Radio Sportscast: Dalton Shetler, a junior from Spencerville, Indiana
  • Radio News Report: Victor Garcia, a senior from Goshen
  • Radio In-Depth: Dalton Shetler
  • Radio Bit or Skit: Laura Hoover, a first-year from Chesterton, Indiana, and JD Hershberger, a junior from Hesston, Kansas

Second place

  • Radio Imaging: Victor Garcia and Maria Bischoff, a senior from Noblesville, Indiana
  • Radio News Report: Brad Stoltzfus, a sophomore from Souderton, Pennsylvania
  • Radio Copywriting: JD Hershberger
  • Radio Newscast: Victor Garcia, Brad Stoltzfus and Spencer Buttermore, a sophomore from Waterloo, Indiana
  • Radio Bit or Skit: Samantha Horsch, a sophomore from Goshen, and Colin Samuel, a first-year from Goshen

Third place

  • Radio In-Depth: Maria Bischoff and Victor Garcia

Television awards

First place

  • Corporate Video: Carley Wyse, a senior from Archbold, Ohio
  • Television Anchor: Jesse Bontreger, a junior from Goshen
  • Short Film: Elizabeth Derstine, a senior from Lancaster, Pennsylvania; Jared Zook, a 2015 graduate from Canton, Ohio; Benson Hostetter, a 2015 graduate from Lancaster, Pennsylvania; and David Leaman-Miller, a junior from Denver.

Second place

  • Television Non-News Program: Abby Deaton, a 2015 graduate from Indianapolis; Jake Smucker, a 2015 graduate from Newton, Kansas; Carley Wyse, and Elizabeth Derstine
  • Corporate Video: David Leaman-Miller

Third place

  • Television Spot Production: Abby Deaton
  • Music Video: Landon Weldy, a first-year from Goshen
  • Television Sports Program: Dalton Shetler
  • Cinematography: Elizabeth Derstine
  • Video Sound Design: Tim Litwiller, a sophomore from Peoria, Arizona


Anabaptist World

Anabaptist World Inc. (AW) is an independent journalistic ministry serving the global Anabaptist movement. We seek to inform, inspire and Read More

Sign up to our newsletter for important updates and news!