Church of the Brethren in Nigeria holds 77th annual conference

— Ekklesiyar Yan’uwa a Nigeria (EYN)

The 77th annual conference of Ekklesiyar Yan’uwa a Nigeria (EYN), the Church of the Brethren in Nigeria, has successfully concluded, marking a significant milestone in the church’s history. Held April 16-19 at EYN headquarters in Kwarhi, Adamawa State in Nigeria, the Majalisa (annual conference) brought together thousands of members, leaders and guests from across Nigeria and beyond.

The theme, “Following in Jesus’ Steps” (1 Peter 2:21), resonated throughout the gathering, as participants ardently listened to guest preacher Faman Lohkat from Church of Christ in Nations, an ecumenical partner of EYN.

On the agenda were elections and appointment of a new top leadership team.

EYN is a Christian denomination with a strong presence in Nigeria, known for its commitment to community service, education and social justice. The Majalisa is its highest decision-making body, gathering once every year to discuss church matters.

Highlights of the Majalisa

EYN president Joel S. Billi gave a speech to the Majalisa on April 17. He is concluding his term of service as EYN president. The Majalisa also heard joyful renditions from the Hildi church district choir, the Joint Mararaba Youth Band and the women’s fellowship of the EYN headquarters church.

A total of 13 local church branches were granted autonomy and raised to the status of local church council  (full congregation) after meeting the requirements. However, 13 local church councils were relegated back to local church branch status for inability to meet the approved annual income of two million Nigerian Naira ($1450).

Thirteen individuals, including EYN ministers, headquarters staff, and members received awards. There was also an adoption of a new scheme and conditions of service for EYN workers.

Elections and appointments

The election was held on April 19. Richard Balami, the electoral college secretary barrister, made the announcement of the official results as follows:

Daniel Y. C. Mbaya was elected as the new president of EYN. He formerly served as general secretary. Nuhu Mutah Abba was elected as the new vice president. He formerly served as administrative secretary.

James K. Musa was appointed as the new general secretary. Luka M. Timta was appointed as the new administrative secretary. Bitrus Y. Duwara was appointed as the new director of disaster relief management.

The newly named officials have expressed their gratitude for the opportunity to serve EYN and have pledged to work diligently for the betterment of the organization and its members. The incoming leadership team is dedicated to building on the successes of their predecessors while also forging a path toward a brighter future.

In his acceptance speech, Mbaya expressed gratitude to God with a verse from Isaiah 25:1-5. He envisioned pursuing reconciliation to achieve.

“We will have an EYN, a united church, deeply rooted in the word of God, spiritually, numerically and materially,” he said. “How do we achieve this? By ensuring that we are aggressive in the matter of reconciliation because a lot have misunderstood us, a lot have misquoted us, and a lot have got us wrong. We will pursue reconciliation aggressively to ensure that no member of EYN leaves if it is in the matter of leadership.”

He added that many members and pastors always lament that the church has diverted from its true Brethren heritage. Therefore, he added that if God allows them to lead, his leadership will engage in rediscovering the Brethren heritage.

Mbursa Jinatu

Mbursa Jinatu is the head of media for EYN.

Ekklesiyar Yan’uwa a Nigeria

Ekklesiyar Yan’uwa a Nigeria is the Church of the Brethren in Nigeria.

Sign up to our newsletter for important updates and news!